top of page
Search
  • OceanBoundDev

Gorgeous Reflections!



I'd had the idea of parallax corrected cubemaps as a method for quick rendering reflections in my head for a while, but wasn't sure how possible it would prove. The answer? Not just possible, gorgeous! All that I'd hoped for and more. I'm already toying with layered cubemaps - especially close to the camera - to better engage with the depth of the ship. I'm not 100% on how much strain this will put on major ship updates, which may leave me finally implementing a non-vital update thread on the fourth and final unused core of my cpu - but it does bring my resource management engine's abstraction to the forefront of my ram-saving plans moving forward, with parts in like-environments sharing cubemaps.

Was that technobabble? Maybe a little, I'm a touch over-excited about this working as well as it has!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page